0800 581 177

Reviews

We love to receive feedback about your stay and invite you to leave us a review.

Make a booking

Make a Booking

Book or Check Availabilty Online.


Book Now
Modern and clean with attentive staff

Modern and clean with attentive staff

Peter and Mario - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 27/06/2016

Perfect location for central New Plymouth. Walking distance to most amentities. Good off street parking. Rooms were large by motel standards, modern and very clean. All the usual amenities with additional Sky channels than one would normally expect. Bed was large and comfortable with starched sheets. Nice we will be back.

Room Tip: We liked upstairs as it afforded a view of the sea and mountain (I think) when not covered in cloud.

Thoughtful

Thoughtful

_marganne - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 14/06/2016

We enjoyed our stay at this motel which is very handy to everything. Walking distance is short. We appreciated the fact being winter that if we were out all day we came back to the heating switched on for us. Nothing was too much trouble. A nice quiet place although it was one of their quieter weekends. We would definitely go there again.

Room Tip:
“They provide rooms and parking spaces for disabled. If you are not disabled but have trouble climbing stairs ask for a ground floor.”

Sparkling clean, good location

Sparkling clean, good location

Susan D - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 06/06/2017

Pricewise reasonable, room is huge & amenities are top notch. Very clean I had a very comfortable night, slept like a baby.Very quiet.Place is not too far from center 5 minutes to coastal walkway, reception was friendly & welcoming. Will definitely recommend.

Very Clean Rooms

Very Clean Rooms

Chris McCarthy

Reviewed on 06/07/2016

Lots of space. Nice kitchen with everything you will need. One of the best things about the Motel is you get unlimited free internet at ADSL Speeds. About 5 -10 Minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

Overnight stay before WOMAD exceeded expectations

Overnight stay before WOMAD exceeded expectations

Bernie M - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 02/08/2016

We arrived late at night, after driving down from Auckland (after work). We just needed a place to crash before glamping at WOMAD the next day, so we were only at The Dawson for a night. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a fold out couch in the lounge for our 2 children to sleep on, on arrival they had given us adjoining rooms so that the kids had real beds! Seriously, no-one ever does that - and only for one night too. Obviously we were very thankful. Late check in was easy, there was parking on the roof, the facilities (kitchen, bathroom etc) was all good and clean, big fridge. Would definitely stay again, great location for Len Lye Centre etc.

The place to stay in New Plymouth

The place to stay in New Plymouth

Ali C - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 24/07/2016

Very friendly staff. Lots of space in our room. Double glazed so very quiet and warm. 100m from coastal walkway and bikes are available. Easy walking distance to the main attractions. Absolutely everything we needed. Will definitely return.

Cannot Recommend More Highly

Cannot Recommend More Highly

baker1234 - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 06/08/2016

Stumbled across this motel back at the end of 2014. My husband and I were so impressed with how clean, modern and comfortable the rooms were. The service was very welcoming and attentive.

For our second Taranaki visit in March 2016, we stayed here again, and we're delighted to see the high standard was still maintained.
Thank you for your hospitality and such a pleasant stay!

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family.

Great Place To Stay

Great Place To Stay

Macmar2016 - Trip advisor

Reviewed on 24/10/2016

We recently stayed here one night. The staff were very friendly & helpful.

Our studio unit was modern, spacious, comfortable, clean & quiet. The disabled unit was excellent for my elderly Mother. Would definitely stay again.

Fantastic Place To Stay

Fantastic Place To Stay

schaafgreg - Trip Advisor

Reviewed on 30/09/2016

I stayed in The Dawson 2-3 nights a week over 3 months for work.

Very clean rooms, lovely staff and very accommodating. I don't look for any other motels when I visit New Plymouth anymore.

After a day out in the rain it was wonderful to come back to a nice clean and comfortable room. The staff were nice enough to dry my work clothes as well.

Lovely Motel

Lovely Motel

Klara V - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 22/02/2017

Very clean and modern motel. The internet was fast and we liked how there was an air conditioner in the room. I was really surprised that there was no noise from the upstairs, i have to say that this is the only one we have stayed at where you cannot hear foot traffic from above. Friendly staff including the cleaning staff. Despite the weather we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay here again.

Second stay second excellent review

Second stay second excellent review

Shane B - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 19/04/2017

"The 3 biggest things that we look for in a Motel are location, cleanliness and service, could not fault the Dawson in any of these".

Barb the proprietress was still great, helpful, friendly, we had our own bikes this time and no trouble leaving them in the motel garage and having access to them when we needed them. Even went for a ride after we checked out last day no problems leaving our car at the motel and Barb offered us the amenities in our old room when we got back from our ride (well after check out time).

Standards have remained high and we would see no reason to stay anywhere else in New Plymouth.

Number 1 Motel in New Plymouth

Number 1 Motel in New Plymouth

Gruntie111 - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 17/05/2017

The Dawson is the best, cleanest, freshest, friendliest motel in the whole of New Plymouth - the other three above in ranking are NOT motels
This one is a certainty for me every time. The owners are super helpful

One of the best

One of the best

Trickydicky795 - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 31/05/2017

A very good experience. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room immaculately clean and comfortable. Unsure as to whether it would be noisy as motel was in the CBD.but heard no noise at all. Extensive choice for breakfast which was delivered to the room at time requested. Very handy for sea front and town centre amenities restaurants etc.Highly recommended.

Outstanding

Outstanding

23bob - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 29/06/2017

I travel to Taranaki for work on a regular occurrence. Have to book early due to the popularity of this motel. Large, well appointed, clean rooms minutes from downtown New Plymouth. I've stayed at others. This is the best.

Sparkling clean, good location

Sparkling clean, good location

Susan D - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 30/06/2017

Pricewise reasonable, room is huge & amenities are top notch. Very clean I had a very comfortable night, slept like a baby.Very quiet.Place is not too far from center 5 minutes to coastal walkway, reception was friendly & welcoming. Will definitely recommend

Modern and clean with attentive staff

Modern and clean with attentive staff

Peter and Mario - TripAdvisor

Reviewed on 27/06/2016

Perfect location for central New Plymouth. Walking distance to most amentities. Good off street parking. Rooms were large by motel standards, modern and very clean. All the usual amenities with additional Sky channels than one would normally expect. Bed was large and comfortable with starched sheets. Nice we will be back.

Room Tip: We liked upstairs as it afforded a view of the sea and mountain (I think) when not covered in cloud.

Reviews can be made with Google Reviews or with TripAdvisor